Colorful, Spring Push Up Cupcakes!

With Easter just around the corner, I wanted to make a fun, colorful, push up cupcake that incorporates all of the great colors of spring! I started with a white cake mix (any brand is fine.) I separated out the mix into four equal parts. Using Wilton Gel Colors, I colored the cake batter.

Cake Batter in spring colors

To make the cupcakes, I put two colors in each mini muffin cup. I then used a tooth pick to swirl the colors around a little. Don’t mix to much or you will end up with a new color! I tried a variety of color combos. I baked them in the oven for 13 minutes. (First time around, I baked for 15 and that was much too long!) I would also recommend using a non stick pan and do not spray it with no stick spray. It changes the color of the finished cake.

My colored cupcakes!

The hard part is done! Now, time for the decorating fun! I mixed up yellow and pink butter cream frosting. I used two different color cupcakes inside the push tube. After putting the first cupcake down, I added some frosting and sprinkles. I then picked a second color choice, topped with opposite color frosting and one of the Easter shaped Sweet Tarts. I think they turned out pretty cute! What do you think??

Push Up Cupcake for Spring!

Mix and Match Colors

3 responses »

  1. Push Up Cupcakes! Who knew? Fabulously fun idea with great photo’s to boot. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Brande’s Push Up Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Fluff Frosting

Leave a Reply

