Push Up Cupcakes: Bright Colors and Buttercream Flowers

In honor of Mother’s Day, Weddings, and Spring I decided to play with some spring colors and buttercream flowers. I wanted to attempt to make cake in the donut pan again. I am trying to perfect the amount of batter you put in that thing!! I put the batter in a ziploc bag and cut off the corner. I made two passes around the form and that seemed to work out ok. I did it with just one pass and they were flat like a pancake!! Learn from my mistake and don’t waste a pan of 12!

Here is how the first ones turned out…

An upside down view out of the pan…

I should mention that I used confetti cake mix and Wilton Rose Gel coloring to make these. Flipping these over make the perfect spot to hide some extra buttercream frosting!!

I also made a pan of mini cupcakes for this project.

And now…the push up cupcakes!! I made a lot of different ones!

Simple and Smooth with a Wilton #12 Tip

I think this one is my favorite!! I used the Wilton 2D tip and flower shaped sprinkles for the centers.

Confetti Cake and Wilton Rose Gel Food Coloring

I have to say that there is a science to how much “stuff” to put inside. The lids on these get in the way of getting too fancy on top! I squished a few. This one turned out pretty good, though! 2 mini donuts and one mini cupcake seems to be a good combination!!

Thanks for stopping! Have a great weekend everyone!

2 responses »

  1. Hi! Where did you get the tray with holes that holds the push pop containers?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

